Home » Govt prohibits the entry of passengers from the EU, Turkey, the UK from Mar 18

Govt prohibits the entry of passengers from the EU, Turkey, the UK from Mar 18

by PTI

With the cases of the coronavirus swelling in the country, the government on Monday prohibited entry of passengers from EU countries, Turkey and the UK from March 18 till March 31.

The Union health ministry also said four new coronavirus cases — one each from Odisha, Jammu & Kashmir, Ladakh, and Kerala, have been reported, taking the total number of cases to 114 on Monday. These cases, include 10 discharged, three cured and two reported deaths.

After the Group of Ministers (GoM) meeting, the government has proposed social distancing measures to be in force till March 31, the ministry officials told reporters.

The ‘contact tracing activity’ of these positive cases has led to the identification of more than 5,200 contacts, who are kept under surveillance, they added.

“Travel of passengers from member countries of the European Union, the European Free Trade Association, Turkey and the United Kingdom to India is prohibited with effect from 18th March 2020,” said Lav Aggarwal, the Joint Secretary in the ministry said.

“No airline shall board a passenger from these nations to India with effect from 1200 GMT on 18th March 2020. The airline shall enforce this at the port of initial departure,” he said.

Both these instructions are temporary measures and shall be in force till  March 31, 2020, and will be reviewed subsequently, he said.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Speak Upright

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy
%d bloggers like this: